Get Up On This!
Tuesday, May. 06, 2003 @ 3:42 p.m.

Oh, the horror. Today was the monthly Spirit Awards ceremony, which included the dreaded Spirit Council greeting at the front doors (basically, eight people lined up and ready to rock your world with spirit). This morning, the shrieking harpies were also armed with noise makers, which brought the horror up to a whole new level. There's nothing like walking into work (late and half asleep) and being assaulted with shrieks of "GOOD MORNIN'!!!!" with accompanying noise makers. Oh, and cow bells, naturally. Always the cowbells.

I was in such a bad mood that I couldn't even play along and give them my usual grim smile. I just hunched up my shoulders and scurried past as quickly as possible. I'm a bad sport and I'm good at it. Luckily, the folks I work with are not really into the whole Spirit crap. When the awards ceremony was broadcast (again, lady, using a microphone means you don't have to YELL) we all made snarky comments about it and didn't even think about attending. It helps that Boss Lady is out today, so we didn't get her half-hearted nudge to go. I never go. Why would I?

The ceremony was, as usual, pretty cringe-worthy, and included a reading of a painfully cruddy poem about how smiling is infectious (black plague) and ended with the yelly lady saying: "The way your day goes is the way your mouth turns." Right, so, what does a twisted sneer indicate?

**********************************

News 'N Things.

It's been a quiet week according to my Diaryland buddy list. Where the hell is everyone? I'm sorry if you're busy, but don't forget that your first, and most important, job is to entertain me. Get to writing, people and make it amusing!

Tomorrow I'm going to the library and I'll pick up a couple of books from my challenge list to read. I've almost finished reading 'The Lovely Bones' which is fantastic (Claudia, you'd love it). It's due back tomorrow and when I checked it out I'd noticed the spine was cracked and now the pages are falling out. It's not my fault! I'm nice to books! I really hope the library doesn't make me pay for it because I have no money.

Those of you who are reading one of my recommendations, please drop me a line and let me know what you think!

**********************************

Link It. Link It Real Good.

A little something about the Buffy finale and also, some sympathy. What will we do? What will we do? (links courtesy of tvtattle.com)

Oh Jude. What happened to you?

Snerk. Carrot Top. Sucks.

Nobody got my mystery quote yesterday? Noah, I'm disappointed in you.

0 chatty monkeys

last
next
archives
newest
random!
email
notes
profile
reading
links
Keen Designs
Amblus Loves Bikes
Craft Mafia Blog
freshhell
skibigsky
captvfirefly
Smartypants
mayapple
emiloo
schmutzie
legalbeagle
lasvegasliz
gem-chan
Essaywriter
xnavygrrl
rs536-2000
harri3tspy
smedindy
www.flickr.com

design
diaryland

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com