Shake Your Friday Rump-Ah.
Friday, Apr. 18, 2003 @ 3:59 p.m.

Right on, right on! It's Friday and my mood is much less annoyingly introspective. I'm happy today, even though Survivor last night was a BIG FAT CHEAT. More on that later.

So, yay, weekend! Plans for tonight include the usual sushi and video, with the addition of some Girl Scout Thin Mints. Tomorrow, I don't know. Gym? Errands? Shopping? Maybe a movie? We'll see. Ah, glorious, unstructured time!

Sunday, we're going to my mom's house for brunch. According to my sister, my completely adorable and brilliant 2-year-old niece is "excited about the Secular & Non-Candy Bearing Easter Bunny coming to visit her." Ha, we're the least religious family, ever. Easter? That's when we eat Peeps!

****************************

Happy Trails.

Last night Kenny and I went on a mountain bike ride, even though it was 50 degrees and windy as hell. We did some of the James River trails (call the Buttermilk Trail for some reason) and then rode some of the trails at Forest Hill Park, which I love because it looks like The Park That Time Forgot.

It's always deserted and it has an over-grown, haunted, Victorian feel to it. Things have happened in Forest Hill Park, I think. Part of the movie version of Stephen King's Hearts in Atlantis was filmed there. I found this description online:

The Forest Hill Park trolley line brought people to this popular recreation site. Located here was an amusement park replete with ice skating in the winter and boating in the summer. The land once belonged to Holden Rhodes who built the "Old Stone House" still standing in the park today. In 1890 the land was subdivided and another trolley suburb was born. The park closed after the depression. It is now a public park

I wish I had pictures. It's totally cool.

****************************

Watching.

Stupid, stupid Survivor. It was a stupid clips show! Survivor redux. Grah, I guess it's for the lame-asses who couldn't be bothered to watch all the episodes, but hey, I put the time in and I deserve a new episode! Grr. I watched Friends instead and here's my suggestion for how to make it better: kill Ross. Scrubs is really good though.

Dur, I realized that I never commented on Buffy this week! OW, MY EYE! Poor Xander! I watched it with a bunch of friends and we were all severely traumatized. It was mostly an interesting episode, but I think I need to have a little chat with Joss about the clich� of the evil preacher man. F'real. So done. Also, I'm sorry that Firefly got cancelled, but that doesn't mean you have to immediately get new jobs for all those actors. I'm also not so sure about introducing a brand new character this close to the end, but whatever.

Other comments: Andrew deserves his own show- he's damn funny. Also, Faith's return has brought some interesting three-way friction. Haw haw. Oh, and hey, where the hell was Anya? I guess we won't find out next week since it's another stupid re-run. They're really dragging this out, aren't they?

****************************

Reading.

Currently I'm reading How to be Good by Nick Hornsby, which I'm enjoying (but I think I liked About a Boy better). It brings up some interesting issues about religion and goodness and middle class guilt. Definitely worth reading.

I'm also reading The Tree Tattoo written by my friend Karen. Naturally, I think she's fantastically talented and she writes the way an artist paints- by showing, rather than telling. Also, her website's "About Karen" section is seriously entertaining and hopefully she won't kill me for linking to it. Wait, does she even read my journal? I guess I'll find out.

By the way, pandionna had an interesting list in her entry today. It was the answer to this question:

Q. If you're to design a semester's curriculum for a literature course, and your students can buy and read ten books, what do you put on the list, and why? What's your course called?

My answer:

1. Cold Mountain by Charles Frazier
2. Harriet The Spy by Louise Fitzhugh
3. The Color Purple by Alice Walker
4. Time and Again by Jack Finney
5. The Stand by Stephen King
6. The Wolves of Willoughby Chase by Joan Aiken
7. The Outsiders by S.E. Hinton
8. For Kicks by Dick Francis
9. A Good Man is Hard to Find by Flannery O'Connor
10. To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee

Ha, I would be a terrible teacher. My course would be called "Books You Should Read Because Adrien Said So." This is my list and I'm sticking to it. Note, it's not all "literature" and I stuck in a few childhood favorites. My class would totally be fun, don't you think?

****************************

Links-O-Amusement.

Here's The Modern Library's 100 Best Novels list. I've read shamefully few of them.

"Old folkies never die. They just get mercilessly mocked by Christopher Guest and company." Hee! I am so excited about A Mighty Wind.

Aww, yeah. Check out this Office Space soundboard! (Link courtesy of websweepings.com, which rules.)

Oooh, a vintage candy catalog! "WHIZ. Best Nickel Candy There Iz-z". Ha, Snoop would like some WHIZ-ZLE, fo schizzle! (Link courtesy of the ever-excellent popculturejunkmail.com.)

****************************

Un-amusing Looting Links.

According to this article, the looting of Iraq museums was planned theft. As a result, Three members of the White House Cultural Property Advisory Committee have resigned in protest.

Hell, even the zoo has been looted. The zoo. Most of the animals have disappeared, including the bears, but the poor lions were left behind and are starving to death.

Have good weekends, my little monkeys!

0 chatty monkeys

last
next
archives
newest
random!
email
notes
profile
reading
links
Keen Designs
Amblus Loves Bikes
Craft Mafia Blog
freshhell
skibigsky
captvfirefly
Smartypants
mayapple
emiloo
schmutzie
legalbeagle
lasvegasliz
gem-chan
Essaywriter
xnavygrrl
rs536-2000
harri3tspy
smedindy
www.flickr.com

design
diaryland

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com