Enough About Me.
Thursday, Mar. 20, 2003 @ 3:58 p.m.

In an effort to divert my wartime negativity, I'm going to do an entirely selfish and self-involved entry about things I like. Talking about myself? I know, shocking! I will not be complaining today! Today I will discuss thing that bring me pleasure and satisfaction. I'm pretty sure everyone knows what sort of things I don't like (centipedes, raisins and Emeril, just to name a few) because I blather on about Things I Don't Like endlessly. So here you are, things I like:

Mail

Really, I love getting mail, which I think is part of the reason I started eBaying. Getting packages and money in the mail? Excellent! Mail is also the reason why I enter every magazine contest I come across, as unexpected surprises arriving on my doorstep are always a good thing. You know that assy old philosophy class challenge, where you have to prove you're existence? I get mail, therefore I am. And God help the mailman who bypasses my house without leaving anything. That's grounds for instant firing. No mail? You're FIRED.

We actually do have a pretty slack mailman; once we got our mail, and the mail for everyone else on the block. Did he just give up? Did he have a bad day and say "fuck it, I'm done"? Who knows. We always bribe him with treats at Christmas time, more out of fear than anything. If we don't bribe him, we'll never get another magazine, ever. Instead, the postal employees will be laughing at our foolishness while reading our copies of Mountain Bike Action and Marie Claire in the break room. Always bribe your mailman.

***********

Monkeys

Damn, who doesn't like monkeys? I don't think I need to explain this one. Hell, I named this journal after my sock monkey.

***********

Books

Ah, sweet companions. I'm never lonely or alone if I have a good book. I stash extras in my car and desk, just in case I'm caught without. When I was a dorky, unpopular kid, books were my friends. Harriet the Spy, Dido Twite, Sara Crewe, Alec Ramsey and Trixie Belden were my best buddies.

Also, I love just having books around. I love stacking them up and organizing them. I love roaming the stacks at the local library. I love searching thrift stores for rare and out-of-print copies of old favorites; Some I sell on eBay, some I keep. You can take away my television, but don't touch my books.

***********

Sushi

Pretty food. Beautiful planned out and esthetically placed food. Also, delicious, even when the ingredients seem scary. I love sushi. I love good sushi from a nice restaurant and I like basic sushi from the grocery store.

I love pickled ginger and wasabi and the liberal (if not traditional) use of avocado in sushi. I'd like to thank a girl named Troy who I was friends with for a semester during my junior year in college. She was the one who introduced me to sushi and I've always been grateful.

***********

Cats

Kenny will occasionally muse about the weirdness of sharing our lives with these funny little creatures. But we both agree our lives are richer and more interesting for it. I love being greeted by fuzzy, curious faces when I come home from work and I love having a pooked out cat on my lap while watching tv. I'm always amazed when people say they don't like cats because they're distant and unaffectionate. They obviously haven't met the right sort of cats. They obviously haven't met my cats.

***********

Mountain Biking

I'm the sporty black sheep in my artistic family. They don't really get my mountain biking ways and they don't get the whole racing thing, but that's okay. I don't do it for approval, I do it because it fulfills something in me that I can't find anywhere else.

There is something so beautifully singular and Zen about zipping down and around on a perfect, fast, section of wooded singletrack. You just let go of everything in your brain and just are. You think about nothing but the next turn, the next climb, the next section of trail. You and your bike are one unit, moving together without conscious thought.

There's just something incredibly relaxing and fulfilling about being purely physical. It took me so long to discover this, and really, it took getting fit to really enjoy being fit. the getting is the hard part. The being is worth it.

****************************************************

I am obviously a flying monkey.

So apparently the mythical powers of the Temp Badge are exaggerated. When I piggybacked my way in the building after lunch, the security guard made me stop and asked me if I'd swiped my ID card. Goddamn.

****************************************************

Survivor.

Oh man, the immunity challenge? It was nasssty. I laughed and laughed and felt sick and then laughed some more. I think the real pinnacle moment was when they started removing the hunks of stringy, gristly beef from each other's mouths. Oh man. And did anyone see Heidi get whomped in the face by the side 'o beef at the end? That ruled. I'm going to remember that when she horrifies me next week by stripping off her clothes in an attempt to distract the men. Hey Heidi, the women's movement called, it wants it's self-respect back.

God, I love television.

****************************************************

Monkey-only Links.

Famous Monkeys Through History.

Rubbish Monkey!

Awwww, who doesn't love Hi! Monkey?

Check out the 100 Monkey project.

Squeally noise! Baby Monkey Born At Zoo.

0 chatty monkeys

last
next
archives
newest
random!
email
notes
profile
reading
links
Keen Designs
Amblus Loves Bikes
Craft Mafia Blog
freshhell
skibigsky
captvfirefly
Smartypants
mayapple
emiloo
schmutzie
legalbeagle
lasvegasliz
gem-chan
Essaywriter
xnavygrrl
rs536-2000
harri3tspy
smedindy
www.flickr.com

design
diaryland

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com