Yawn.
Monday, Mar. 10, 2003 @ 3:25 p.m.

Yawn.

Wow, my weekend actually had merit or something. I actually did things and things happened. I'm very tired as a result.

Friday night I had drinks with an out-of-town friend and while at the bar, ran into another friend who I'd not seen in a couple of years. That friendship fizzled out in a weird way without any real closure, so it was good to talk, and we discussed things from an older and wiser perspective. It was a good evening, though a little surreal.

**********************************************

OW. Ow. Ow.

Ow, my back. Ow, my arms. Ow, my freaking legs. See, it was 70� and sunny yesterday, so what else could I do but enter a mountain bike race? The race was part of a winter training series and was less about being competitive and more about getting back in the saddle.

But you know, once I passed four of the five other women in my class, I got a bit of the competitive spirit and didn't want to lose my lead. I came in second, which isn't bad, considering I hadn't been on a trail in over a month. However, when woke up this morning I decided the radiating pain in my back, legs and shoulders definitely deserves first place. Give the blue ribbon to PAIN!

Did I mention the race was fourteen miles of singletrack instead of the usual seven for a beginner race and that I'm not exactly in prime cycling condition? Ow. Screw you, pain, there's another race this coming weekend and I intend to be there.

**********************************************

Wince.

Oh my Lord. My supervisor, who's generally a nice person (though she's the vaguest woman I've ever met and has the most annoying drawl of a South Carolina accent, evah), just horrified me completely. She was leaving to get some dental work corrected, but not before telling us about how her crown was attached unevenly and how her dentist, who is "a nice oriental lady-dentist" told her "I use the stwongest glue and not sure I can fix without breaking!"

Yes, she used a stereotypical Asian accent when relating the dentist's comment. The sad thing is, I'm sure my boss has no idea how racist she sounded. And "oriental"? Unless the dentist is a vase or rug, I'm pretty sure she's ASIAN. I cannot correct my boss though, because (a) I need my job and (b) She wouldn't get it anyway.

**********************************************

Ha!

Remember my cool friend who lives in Los Angeles? (I wrote this entry about one of her celebrity run-ins.) Well, she sent me this email today:

I met Joe Millionaire. Hi. He is so dumb and he waxed his chest hair and he kept staring at my boobs and it was the funniest thing ever.

He was wearing a black suit with a light blue shirt. Sounds okay, right? Well, not when I tell you that the shirt was unbuttoned to his freaking navel. He was clearly proud to be liberated from his chest hair. I think he also wanted to show off the big silver man-necklace he was wearing.

His hair was styled in that hip "wet look" the kids are so fond of and it was really long and highly offensive. He is MUCH larger than I would have thought. I'm 5'8" and was wearing probably 4 inch heels and he towered over me. It was so evident that he was trying to clean up, highly amusing. Of course, he does still drag his knuckles when he walks. I have a theory that he may in fact be the missing link.

Ha! I don't even need to add commentary to that. It speaks for itself.

**********************************************

Whee.

If you're a Diaryland member you can take my incredibly dull Music Survey. If you're not a diaryland member but still want to take the survey, email me and I'll send you the questions.

0 chatty monkeys

last
next
archives
newest
random!
email
notes
profile
reading
links
Keen Designs
Amblus Loves Bikes
Craft Mafia Blog
freshhell
skibigsky
captvfirefly
Smartypants
mayapple
emiloo
schmutzie
legalbeagle
lasvegasliz
gem-chan
Essaywriter
xnavygrrl
rs536-2000
harri3tspy
smedindy
www.flickr.com

design
diaryland

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com