Operation Valentine Fart
Friday, Feb. 14, 2003 @ 3:08 p.m.

Operation Valentine Fart.

So I'm a little disappointed. The other day at the Bank of X awards broadcast, they announced that employees could "dress up" today, if they wanted to. I was completely floored by that. Dress up? What the hell? Why, that could mean anything! Ball gowns? Horrible Valentine's Day sweaters? Disney store Valentine-themed apparel? Who knows?

So I came in (wearing my usual grey and black) expecting to be wonderfully horrified, and I have to say, I'm disappointed, man. I've seen a lot of red and pink clothing, but nobody is "dressed up" anymore than usual. My boss did bring in a dozen garishly decorated cupcakes, so that's something, anyway.

My husband and I take Valentine's Day very un-seriously, partially because our dating anniversary is Feb. 15th (seven years tomorrow!) and partially because it's a stupid commercial holiday, aimed at making you feel un-loved if you don't get a Hallmark card, a balloon bouquet and a Whitman's sampler. That fucking sucks. My husband does a zillion nice things for me every day and I don't need his love reinforced by a corporation. I'm looking forward with perfect contentment to our usual Friday night ritual of take-out sushi and a video. Excellent.

******************************************

Awww, the piped in music is playing "Stand By Me", which rockets me back to 1986 and my complete obsession with the movie and the beginning of my love for River Phoenix. I think I saw it six times in the theater. Good stuff. Wil Wheaton, who played Gordie, has a great weblog, which I think he's about to quit, due to some nasty troll action. Come back Wil! Screw those jerks.

******************************************

Pamie does it again with her Fifth Annual Valentine's Day Entry. It's one of the funniest things I've ever read. You must read it right now.

Do it.
NOW.
I love you.

This entry by Mimi Smartypants smacks down V-day in a most appropriate manner. "I don't know about you, but hydrocephalic Precious Moments children with moist blank eyes dismembering and eating kittens does not exactly scream HAPPY VALENTINE'S DAY to me."

Make your own Conversation Hearts


0 chatty monkeys

last
next
archives
newest
random!
email
notes
profile
reading
links
Keen Designs
Amblus Loves Bikes
Craft Mafia Blog
freshhell
skibigsky
captvfirefly
Smartypants
mayapple
emiloo
schmutzie
legalbeagle
lasvegasliz
gem-chan
Essaywriter
xnavygrrl
rs536-2000
harri3tspy
smedindy
www.flickr.com

design
diaryland

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com