Smile, they can hear it.
Tuesday, Feb. 11, 2003 @ 3:18 p.m.

Smile, they can hear it.

They believe that, you know. The drones here are told by the "spirit leaders" to smile while on the phone, because "they can hear it". I bet they'd hear a throaty growl more clearly. I wonder if they can hear my bad attitude right now? I hope so.

This morning, for our listening pleasure, Bank of X is having the monthly employee awards ceremony. We're supposed to attend, but they broadcast it over the loudspeaker just in case. They don't bother to turn down the piped-in music either, so forget important things you might be trying to do- like making phone calls, or, I don't know, concentrating?

So currently, I'm being forced to listening to:
- loud-speaker spirit speeches
- "Monday, Monday" by The Mamas and The Papas
- disgusting throat-clearing noises coming from the cube on my right
- a completely inane conversation about conversion vans from the cube on my left.

All going on simultaneously. Someone kill me.

Ha, they just made an announcement that we can dress up for Valentine's Day on Friday. Dress up? The hell?

*********************************************

This article scared the crap out of me. Rather than write about it, I will instead stick my head in pop-culture sand and write about really important things. Like reality television and subjective movie awards. Okay then.

Joe Millionaire was a total rip-off last night. It was the lamest kind of re-cap show, with almost no new footage. Screw you, Fox Television. Hell, we don't even get any grammatical gems to make fun of, now that Melissa's gone. I love that they use the "I'm a mercenary" line in every introduction segment though. That's brilliant.

And how creepy is Alex McLeod? Jeez, I'd love to know what happened there. Obviously her role was meant to be bigger, but she's been edited down to one creepy line per show. She freaks me out.

Oh, and the surprise twist they keep referring to? I think it's that the girls are rich, maybe? Or maybe Fox is going to give Evan a bunch of money? Or maybe they'll all be forced to live together on an island and compete against each other for closed-captioned blow jobs? Oh, who the hell cares. Evan's dumb as a stump and the girl who loses is the winner, in my book.

*********************************************

The Academy Award nominations were announced. There were a few surprises (yay, Pedro Almodovar!)and a few disappointments (boo, Scorsese!). Keep in mind, I've only seen two of the "Best Picture" nominations, so my comments are completely based on what I've seen or not and who I like or not- which is similar to how the academy picks the nominees anyway, so haha.

First I'd like to say that Gangs of New York stank. (Actually, I already said it here.) In no way does it deserve to win anything, unless there's a category for Heavy-Handed, Cliche-Ridden Director, in which case it should totally get an award.

I would also like to say that, while I really enjoyed Chicago, I'm not sure it's really best picture material and I doubt it will win. I was happy with all the actor/actress nominations it got and I really hope Queen Latifah wins Best Supporting Actress. I love her. Also John C Reilly was nominated for Best Supporting Actor and absolutely deserves it.

I know it won't win, but I think About a Boy deserves to win for Best Writing (Adapted Screenplay). I've read the book and seen the movie and they did a fantastic job with that transition. I'm sure the other nominees deserve to win too, but, again, I haven't seen all of the other movies.

One last comment- where the hell is Rabbit-Proof Fence? And Confessions of a Dangerous Mind? Totally robbed.

*********************************************

Broken Boots update!

I know y'all having been dying to find out what happened with the sexy, sexy boots, right? I took them back today and the owner is giving me a brand new pair to replace them. She also offered the option of a refund, but I want boots, not cash. She's having them sent over from her other store and I can pick them up tomorrow. She was totally nice and apologetic about the whole thing, so now I feel bad about calling it a snooty boutique. Yay for good customer service!

*********************************************

"You can hear a smile over the phone. But so what?"

0 chatty monkeys

last
next
archives
newest
random!
email
notes
profile
reading
links
Keen Designs
Amblus Loves Bikes
Craft Mafia Blog
freshhell
skibigsky
captvfirefly
Smartypants
mayapple
emiloo
schmutzie
legalbeagle
lasvegasliz
gem-chan
Essaywriter
xnavygrrl
rs536-2000
harri3tspy
smedindy
www.flickr.com

design
diaryland

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com