Every other day of the week is fine, yeah
Monday, Feb. 10, 2003 @ 4:04 p.m.

Every other day of the week is fine, yeah.

I'm exausted. I never sleep well on Sunday nights because it's hard for me to turn my brain off. Also, another Sunday's job listings have passed with nothing worth applying to. If I'd known when I got laid off that I'd still be looking for a job over a year later, I'd probably have taken to my bed and never left. This is so insane. I'm starting to feel like my skills are tantamount to that of a typewritist or something equally obsolete. I imagine employers receiving my resume, scanning it briefly and then flinging it into the trash. "Ree-search? Never heard of it!"

God, and today is such a fucking Monday. The weather is a nasty mix of snow/sleet/rain (a "wintery mix" if you will) and tomorrow it will probably be 50 degrees and sunny. As my friend Ashley likes to say: "Richmond, VA has 28 seasons, non-consecutive."

I went home for lunch which was a torturous mistake. I walked in and the cats all wandered in from various napping points with sleepy "what the hell are you doing home?" looks on their faces. Then (after they demanded and received food) they got all cozy and it was everything I could do to scrape myself off the cat-laden couch and drive back. It was more painful when I think back to the unemployed days of slacker yore...but I covered that on Friday, didn't I. Yes, Adrien, we all understand that you enjoyed not having to work, now shut up already.

My actual lunch is best summed up by a haiku written on a great promotional piece designed by my friend Noah:

Heh, I love that.

******************************************

Half-assed movie rental reviews!

As mentioned, I rented Sweet Home Alabama and Igby Goes Down this weekend. Both are watchable, but neither was fantastic.

*Igby had so much potential, but it missed the mark a little. There was too much story for a two hour movie and it needed focus. I was surprised by how good Kieran Culkin is and not surprised by how much Amanda Peet sucked. Jeff Goldblum and Susan Sarandon both played characters that would've been really interesting if they'd been fleshed out more. I don't know that I completely understood Igby, but I liked him. Ryan Phillipe was nice to look at and Claire Danes was just there. Eh.

*Sweet Home Alabama was a fluff piece, and aside from a few honestly funny moments, it stank. The main character was completely unlikable and bitchy and I didn't want either guy to be unlucky enough to end up with her. Also, some of the character reactions were unrealistic to the point of bizarre. But, really it was about what I expected, so I didn't feel cheated. Fluff is fluff.

******************************************

I just found out that Felipe Rose, the original Native American member of The Village People, goes to my gym.

Hmm, Dave Brockie, front man of GWAR, also goes to my gym.

Are you thinking what I'm thinking?

All-Star gym band! Rules!

0 chatty monkeys

last
next
archives
newest
random!
email
notes
profile
reading
links
Keen Designs
Amblus Loves Bikes
Craft Mafia Blog
freshhell
skibigsky
captvfirefly
Smartypants
mayapple
emiloo
schmutzie
legalbeagle
lasvegasliz
gem-chan
Essaywriter
xnavygrrl
rs536-2000
harri3tspy
smedindy
www.flickr.com

design
diaryland

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com