Training. Me.
Wednesday, Jan. 29, 2003 @ 9:09 p.m.

Training. Me.

**A quick note to my new readers (hi new readers!): I'm a girl. I know have a boy's name, often hang out with male friends and I mountain bike, but I'm a girl. Story of my life. Okay then.**

So, I've been in training all week to learn how to process loans. I started here at Bank of X as a desperate-to-earn-money-doing-almost-anything-but-waitressing temp and for some reason they want to hire me on full time to be a loan processor. I think they're crazy. Insane. Absolutely out of their minds. The idea of me as a banker makes me laugh like a monkey. I went to art school, people. Seriously, if I applied for a loan and found out I'd be processing it, I'd cancel it. Immediately.

So training this morning sucked, what a surprise.

Partially it sucked because the projected image of the computer screen had a slight but continuous shimmy. After 15 minutes it was really annoying and after 2 1/2 hours I was nauseous. It was similar to how I felt after seeing The Blair Witch Project in the theater. Ugh.

Mostly it sucked just because I didn't understand any of it. Imagine being taught algebra without knowing arithmetic. It was that awful. I sat today for three hours trying not to cry from frustration. At one point the trainer was yammering on (and on) and my brain just up and jumped the track.

Words spilled out of her mouth and swirled around like an animated blow to the head. Nothing made sense anymore and I started to get upset. When something is explained to me that I can't understand, I progress from a) frustration to b) shut-down mode and finally c)tears, which, as a 12-year-old with a learning disability, is understandable, but as an adult, is not so impressive.

I don't know. I'm really hoping the other job comes through, but if it doesn't I'll just suck it up and try my best.

***********************************

In less whiny news, I cannot wait to get to the gym tonight so I can get rid of all this stress and nervous energy. Bootcamp class is just the ticket for tonight, I think.

I'm one of those crazy fitness girls, but I wasn't a few years back. I used to medicate my stress with junk food and cigarettes and now I'm one of those annoying non-smoking healthy types. I went to the gym on New Year's Eve. Yes I did. I'd have gone on Christmas day too, if it had been open.

As a result of my changed ways, I've lost about 35 pounds in the last year and I can do real push-ups for the first time in my life. I love my muscles. I'm also not ashamed of my stomach for the first time in 14 years, and that's something.

Best of all, I won a mountain bike race back in November. See:

Blah blah blah Ginger, I know. I'm sorry, I'm all MeMeMe! today, but it's my damn journal and I can't make you laugh every day. I'll shut up about myself. For now.

***********************************

Fitness, you say? Links!

Krista Smash!
OneFatBitchypoo

0 chatty monkeys

last
next
archives
newest
random!
email
notes
profile
reading
links
Keen Designs
Amblus Loves Bikes
Craft Mafia Blog
freshhell
skibigsky
captvfirefly
Smartypants
mayapple
emiloo
schmutzie
legalbeagle
lasvegasliz
gem-chan
Essaywriter
xnavygrrl
rs536-2000
harri3tspy
smedindy
www.flickr.com

design
diaryland

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com