Reprieve?
Monday, Jan. 27, 2003 @ 3:46 p.m.

Reprieve?

I think I maybe have a chance at a reprieve from my impending career as a loan drone. I had an interview yesterday (on a SUNDAY) for a job I'd very much like to have. Very much. I don't want to get into details right now for fear of jinxing it. I think I have a 60% chance of getting it. I should know something by the end of the week, which, incidentally, is about when I'll be signing my life away to Bank of X.

This potential job has a few minuses (less money for a while until it goes full-time) but tons of pluses. Please, lovely readers, cross your fingers for me.

I feel in some ways that it was meant to be. I almost went mountain biking, but wimped out at the last minute because it was cold. The phone rang minutes after I would've left and the interview was set for that very afternoon because it seemed a better than trying to fit it in during lunch on Wednesday or Thursday (the other options I was given). This ended up working perfectly because I came in today to discover that I'd been scheduled for training on Wednesday and Thursday. Meant to be? God, I hope so.

***********************************************

Weekend update:

I did pretty much everything I thought I'd do, minus the thrift store shopping and plus the job interview. I saw Chicago as planned and enjoyed it for the most part. It was a little weird to see Richard Gere singing and dancing. (But not weirder than, say, Warren Beatty singing ala Dick Tracy. That was weird.) Otherwise, the performances were good (especially Queen Latifah, who I adore), the costumes were gorgeous and overall, I was entertained. That's really all I ask from movies anymore, is to be entertained.

***********************************************

Speaking of entertainment, the Super Bowl Half time show? Holy crap.

Memo to: Shania Twain
From: Everyone with taste

Dude, stop. Just stop now. Your recent video was a complete train wreck, with it's bizarre, futuristic Blade Runner/anime theme. It had nothing to do with your sugary, crossover crappy pop song. Why are you trying to be bourbon when you're clearly a wine cooler? I mean, have you looked at your band lately? They look like some sad, retro 80's Billy Joel video version of a "rock" band. Also, it's virtually impossible to look like a bad-ass while playing a white violin. They're Blossom's band. They're Saved by the Bell's band. It's pathetic.

Now, a word about your "performance" last night. When you lip-sync, it's important to keep mouthing the words, because if you stop (and you did), you're still "singing". Got it? It made me laugh but also caused me pain. It's not my fault you can't sing without the aid of computers.

And the outfit?

I checked and it's definitely filed under Sick and Wrong. What? I'm still confused as to why you thought it was a good idea. It doesn't make you look tough or edgy, it makes you look like Cher from the 80's when she was strutting around on aircraft carriers wearing ass-pants. This is a bad thing. A. BAD. THING. Now go change and wipe that crap off your face before the neighbors see you.

PS. No Doubt and Sting put on a great show and they actually sang their songs. Live. As in, Live Performance in which singing is expected. They both looked good too.

***********************************************

No links today, folks. I couldn't find anything amusing.

0 chatty monkeys

last
next
archives
newest
random!
email
notes
profile
reading
links
Keen Designs
Amblus Loves Bikes
Craft Mafia Blog
freshhell
skibigsky
captvfirefly
Smartypants
mayapple
emiloo
schmutzie
legalbeagle
lasvegasliz
gem-chan
Essaywriter
xnavygrrl
rs536-2000
harri3tspy
smedindy
www.flickr.com

design
diaryland

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com