I got nothing.
Friday, Jan. 10, 2003 @ 5:17 p.m.

I got nothing.

Here's what's in my head: jobs jobs jobs debt debt debt dentist bill blarggety blargh. But, weekend!

Here's what I'm doing this weekend:

- I'm going to Cirque Eloize with Kate and her folks. It's similar to Cirque Du Soleil, which I find fascinating, with it's muscular, yet flexible, self.

- I'm going to take back-to-back classes at the gym tomorrow: boot camp followed by a free-weights class. Hi, I'm insane.

- I'm going to sleep in.

- I'm going to kill Milton (oops, wrong list)

-I'm probably not going to do a mountain bike ride because it's supposed to be cold as hell this weekend, though it's been sunny and warm all week. Figures.

*************

Ah, Milton. Why do you hate your keyboard? Why do you need to inflict pain on the buttons on your phone? Today, instead of tap-tap-tapping, he's been POUND-POUND-POUNDING all afternoon. I'm surprised his pointer finger hasn't snapped clean off. He's also been getting a lot of calls, so after the usual mini-tantrum and flurry of huffs and sighs, he answers the phone like this:

"hellobankofXloancenterthisismiltonhowmayIhelpyou."

Damn. Can you imagine being on the other end of that call? In person he can be quite pleasant, but the phone just beats him down.

*************

I understand it though, the phone rage. I hate transacting any sort of business over the phone, even ordering pizza. I don't do well on the phone and I'm easily flustered. I'd be the world's worst telemarketer, which is fine, because I can't imagine a job I'd loathe more. I'd rather work in a tollbooth than be a telemarketer. I'm always nice when they call because I feel sorry for them. Poor things, stuck to a phone all day and dealing with rude people they can't see. That sucks.

But here's the rub, after all my bitchy about cell phones and how evil it must be to have a permanent leash, I suddenly found myself wanting one. Mostly for safety sake, but also because I love a nice gadget. So, Kenny got me one for Christmas and I love it so far, but maybe that's because I haven't given the number to my Mom? Oops, did I just admit that out loud?

Also, I solemly swear I'll never use it while driving. Don't you do it either because even though you think you're still a good driver while chatting, you're wrong. Trust me.

*************

Drive now, talk later.

And just for fun, a monkey who can cook!

0 chatty monkeys

last
next
archives
newest
random!
email
notes
profile
reading
links
Keen Designs
Amblus Loves Bikes
Craft Mafia Blog
freshhell
skibigsky
captvfirefly
Smartypants
mayapple
emiloo
schmutzie
legalbeagle
lasvegasliz
gem-chan
Essaywriter
xnavygrrl
rs536-2000
harri3tspy
smedindy
www.flickr.com

design
diaryland

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com