Office Humor
Wednesday, Jan. 08, 2003 @ 4:06 p.m.

Q: Who is the target audience for Kangaroo Jack?

A: Everyone I work with.

I work in the most stereotypical office. It's the kind of office where Dilbert, Cathy, Geddes babies and Winnie-the-Pooh items are common desk flair. I work in a land of tapered jeans, Disney-themed clothing and claw bangs. I work with people who seemed shocked that, at the ripe old age of 30, I don't yet have or want kids.

Some of the conversations I overhear are startling in there banality:

"You know what I watched the other night?"

"Everybody Loves Raymond?"

"Oh, I love that show, but I was actually talking about Friends!"

"Oh, Friends! That is such a funny show! I just love that weird girl, you know, what's her name?"

"Phoebe! She's crazy. I love when she sang that cat song."

Jesus.

But to be fair, most everyone here is nice and treats me decently, even though I'm a lowly temp. You can tell who the other temps are because they look like exotic birds that were accidentally delivered to a barnyard petting zoo, and that's not necessarily a compliment.

I push the casual dress code a bit, but some of the temps really, really go over the line of what's appropriate here and that's saying a lot. I mean, who gets up on Monday morning and decides that a skintight miniskirt with stiletto-heeled boots is the exact look that says "all business"? Exactly what business are you in? Anyway, the inappropriateness always amuses me and it keeps things from getting too dull.

***************************************

Milton update: He's currently rocking an original Member's Only jacket that he has zipped around his chair. I love that.

Here's the thing about Milton, he's a character, but he's not what you'd expect. He's definitely got weird-middle-aged-single-guy tendencies, but he also bakes pies from scratch, wishes he'd have become an archaeologist instead of a loan monkey and he has really good taste in movies. I actually like him when he's not annoying the crap out of me.

***************************************

Random links to sites I like:

Not My Desk

Laura's NYC Tales

Bitchypoo

Shelleyness

Fresh-Hell

And, if you're a Buffy fan, this is great: The First's Journal

0 chatty monkeys

last
next
archives
newest
random!
email
notes
profile
reading
links
Keen Designs
Amblus Loves Bikes
Craft Mafia Blog
freshhell
skibigsky
captvfirefly
Smartypants
mayapple
emiloo
schmutzie
legalbeagle
lasvegasliz
gem-chan
Essaywriter
xnavygrrl
rs536-2000
harri3tspy
smedindy
www.flickr.com

design
diaryland

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com